Skip to main content
Portrait photo of Afua Nyarko.

Dr. Afua Nyarko recognized as the future of biophysics

Afua Nyarko among those highlighted in the Biophysics Society December Bulletin

Bulletin for the Newsletter of the Biophysical Society, featuring Antoine Coulon, Alex Holehouse, Afua Nyarko and Liman Zhang.One of them is Afua Nyarko.

“The 2022 Future of Biophysics Burroughs Wellcome Fund Speakers will highlight the work of young researchers who are currently conducting cutting-edge research at the interface of the physical and life sciences. The speakers selected for 2022 are Antoine Coulon, Institut Curie, France; Alex Holehouse, Washington University School of Medicine in St. Louis, USA; Afua Nyarko, Oregon State University, USA; and Liman Zhang, Oregon Health and Science University, USA. The Symposium, in its 13th year, will be held Monday, February 21, 2022. Elizabeth Komives and Arthur Palmer, Program Co-Chairs for the 66th Annual Meeting, will co-chair the symposium. “The Future of Biophysics Burroughs Wellcome Fund Symposium is one of the highlights of the Annual Meeting. Four outstanding young biophysicists are selected each year from an exceptional list of nominations and invited to present their work at the Symposium. The goal of the Symposium is to showcase cutting-edge research pioneered by these leaders in areas that reflect the richness and diversity of biophysics."

"These young colleagues, and the many more equally deserving nominees who could not be selected, truly represent the promising future of Biophysics.” —Elizabeth Komives and Arthur Palmer

The Biophysics Society (BPS) publishes a monthly newsletter entitled BPS Bulletin. Mailed to all members, this publication includes Society news, public affairs, news and profiles of Society members, grant and funding award information, notices of biophysics-related meetings and much more.

Oregon State's very own Afua Nyarko has been featured in the BPS Bulletin and will be speaking at the Future of Biophysics Symposium, in its 13th year, on Monday, February 21, 2022.