Skip to main content

BB Spotlight: Research, Teaching, & Advising Awards

BB Spotlight: Research, Teaching, & Advising Awards

Faculty and Staff Awards

Congratulations to BB's College of Science award winners!

Michael Freitag was honored with the F.A. Gilfillan Award for Distinguished Scholarship in Science. The Gilfillan award is the highest honor given to a faculty member in the College whose scholarship and scientific accomplishments have extended over a substantial period of time.

Kari Van Zee won the Frederick H. Horne Award for her exceptional qualities as a teacher and mentor. This award is named after Fred Horne, OSU Professor Emeritus of Chemistry and the former College of Science Dean for 13 years, from 1986 to 1999.

Heather Masson-Forsythe received the Inclusive Excellence Award for her vital contributions to many equity and justice and outreach programs that have brought recognition not only to the biochemistry department but also to Oregon State.

The Disease Mechanism and Prevention Fund (DPF) award went to Adrian Gombart. The donor-supported award supports research into the mechanism, diagnosis, treatment and prevention of disease by faculty within the College of Science.